Health CS,Sicily Kariuki and governors signing MoU for the pilot U.H.C programme in the devolved governments.


UHC pilot programme rollout

Nairobi,Tuesday October 23rd,2018

The Ministry of Health today signed Memoranda with four counties to kickstart the process of Universal Health Coverage on a pilot basis.The four devolved governments are Machakos, Nyeri,Kisumu and Isiolo.

The actual implmentation of the process will be launched on 1st December this year.

During the ceremony held in Nairobi, Health Cabinet Secretary Sicily Kariuki said the National Government has set aside Ksh 800 million per county for the exercise, while each respective county will chip in with a similar amount.

The pilot pragramme targets a population of about 3.4 million in the four pilot counties.Governors present :Peter Anyang Nyongó (Kisumu), Mutahi Kahiga (Nyeri), Dr. Alfred Mutua (Machakos) and Dr. Mohammed Kuti (Isiolo) thanked the national government for the programme that will enable all Kenyans access affordable, accessible and quality health services when fully implemented.The ceremony was also witnessed by Health Chief Administrative Secretary Dr. Rashid Aman, the Principal Secretary Eng. Peter Tum among others.